Council members are appointed by the Minister of Justice and Attorney General. The council is chaired by the Deputy Minister of Justice and, currently, includes Ministry of Justice executive members and a representative from the Ministry of Children and Family Development. The current council members are listed in the Ministerial Order (PDF).

Membership on the council may include: an individual who is in a senior leadership role in the government and who has responsibility for matters relating to the administration of justice in British Columbia or matters relating to public safety, and includes any other individual the minister considers to be qualified to assist in improving the performance of the justice and public safety sector.

Membership will be reviewed on a regular basis to ensure the most effective functioning of the council.